Licensure Information Main
Share |

LICENSURE INFORMATION

Florida Law

Florida law requires continuing education as a part of license renewal for physical therapists and physical therapist assistants in the state of Florida. These requirements for physical therapists and physical therapist assistants are defined in the state practice act and in the rules of the Florida Board of Physical Therapy.

In accordance with Florida Statute 486.109, the Florida Physical Therapy Association approves courses that are required under this statute to be completed by Florida licensed physical therapists and physical therapist assistants. For more information on Continuing Education requirements refer to rule 64B17-9.

Within this statute, the APTA and the FPTA have been given general jurisdiction over all matters pertaining to the approval of Continuing Education courses offered by entities other than CAPTE approved PT and PTA educational programs.

Effective July 1, 2019, in accordance with Florida Statute 456 all Florida licensed PTAs/PTs must complete a 1 hour course on human trafficking by January 1, 2021.   

Role of the  FPTA

The FPTA approves continuing education courses for course providers and individuals seeking approval of courses not already approved.

The Board of Physical Therapy has defined, by rule, specific areas that the FPTA Continuing Education Accreditation Policies and Procedures Committee looks for when accrediting courses, they are: professional ethics,clinical education,clinical management,clinical science,Florida Law related to physical therapy, basic sciences,risk management, HIV/AIDS.

Florida Board of Physical Therapy

The Florida Board of Physical Therapy is responsible for PT and PTA license renewal in Florida. Visit their website to learn about obtaining and renewing a license as well as other practice-related questions OR Call 850-245-4373

www.floridasphysicaltherapy.gov

License Renewal

Important Deadline

The current licensure period ends November 30, 2019. This means that the 24 required continuing education hours per biennium of licensure must be met by November 30, 2019.  If you are licensed in the second half of the biennium you are only required to complete a two (2) hour medical errors course and one (1) hour of HIV.

 

Course Search

Search for current and past courses approved for providers by the Florida Physical Therapy Association.

Requirements

 1 hour human trafficking course to be completed by 1/1/21 per HB 851

24 CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDIT HOURS REQUIRED PER BIENNIUM

The following is a general overview of CEH requirements for license renewal. For complete information, visit the Florida Board of Physical Therapy.

Required Subject Area
Required Number of Hours*
Important Information
General Hours 22

The Florida Board of PT will accept up to twelve (12) contact hours for "home study" during a biennum. This may include online courses in which there is no interaction with a presenter.

At least (12) contact hours must be "live" hours, which may include online webinars. “Live" webinars are date and time specific (happening in “real time”), and the participant must be able to interact with the presenter during the session.

No more than 5 hours may be received in the area of risk management, no more than 3 hours in HIV/AIDS.

Medical Errors 2

Medical Error courses approved by any Board within the Division of Medical Quality Assurance are approved by the Board of Physical Therapy.

HIV/AIDS 1

HIV/AIDS course required for first renewal only and are accepted if approved by any Board within the Division of Medical Quality Assurance.

*Per biennium (a biennium runs from 12/1/odd year-11/30/next odd year. For example, 12/1/2017 – 11/30/2019 is a licensure biennium).
800 N Calhoun St #1A
Tallahassee, FL 32303
PH: 850.222.1243
FAX: 850.224.5281
Email: info@fpta.org
Join Our E-mail List
Email: