Individual Course Approval

  

 

Course Approval for Individuals

Get a Course You Took Approved

If you took a course or plan to take a course that is not approved for CE Credit, or in other words a course provider did not apply to the FPTA for course approval, you can request individual approval by completing and returning the Individual Application Form. If you submit this form prior to the course or within sixty days after course completion, the pricing fees are $30 dollars or $50 dollars depending on the length of the course. If the course is submitted to the FPTA for approval sixty days or later from attendance of the course, the fee is $100. For a more detailed explanation of applications fees, please review page 2 of the Individual Application Form.



How to Apply

Step 1

Download the PDF version of the Individual Application form, OR complete the online Individual Application (please read directions carefully).

Step 2

Gather all required attachments to submit with your application (see Section II of the PDF or visit our FAQ page for more details).

Step 3

Submit the application and attachments. To submit the PDF version, you may email it to info@fpta.org, fax (850) 224- 5281 or mail it to the FPTA office:

800 N. Calhoun St #1A Tallahassee, FL 32303

 

read the section called "Submitting for Individuals" on our FAQ page if you have any questions about submitting an application

 
  

The FPTA's Relationship to the Florida Board of Physical Therapy

The Florida Physical Therapy Association (FPTA), has no access to license records. Our only role in the license renewal process is approving courses for individuals and/or providers in accordance with Florida Statute 486.109, so that they may receive or give Continuing Education credit towards their Florida License requirements. The Florida Board of Physical Therapy on the other hand, is responsible for all PT and PTA license renewals in Florida. Therefore, if you need more information about your license, require assistance or have questions directly pertaining to licensing such as extensions, expiration or otherwise, you must contact the Board of PT. You can visit their website to learn about obtaining and renewing a license, as well as other practice-related questions. For more information on Continuing Education requirements refer to rule 64B17-9. Below is a brief list of PT and PTA license requirements set forth by the Florida Board of Physical Therapy.

License Requirements

1 hour human trafficking course to be completed by 1/1/21 per HB 851

24 CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDIT HOURS REQUIRED PER BIENNIUM

*A biennium runs from 12/1/odd year-11/30/next odd year. For example, 12/1/2019 – 11/30/2021 is a licensure biennium. 

The following is a general overview of CEH requirements for license renewal. For complete information, visit the Florida Board of Physical Therapy.

Required Subject Area
Required Number of Hours*
Important Information
General Hours 22

The Florida Board of PT will accept up to twelve (12) contact hours for "home study" during a biennum. This may include online courses in which there is no interaction with a presenter.

At least (12) contact hours must be "live" hours, which may include online webinars. “Live" webinars are date and time specific (happening in “real time”), and the participant must be able to interact with the presenter during the session.

No more than 5 hours may be received in the area of risk management, no more than 3 hours in HIV/AIDS.

Medical Errors 2

Medical Error courses approved by any Board within the Division of Medical Quality Assurance are approved by the Board of Physical Therapy.

HIV/AIDS 1

HIV/AIDS course required for first renewal only and are accepted if approved by any Board within the Division of Medical Quality Assurance.



 Important Deadline


The current licensure period ends November 30, 2021. This means that the 24 required continuing education hours per biennium of licensure must be met by November 30, 2021. If you are licensed in the second half of the biennium you are only required to complete a two (2) hour of medical errors course and one (1) hour of HIV.

Course Search

Search for current and past courses approved for providers by the Florida Physical Therapy Association.

800 N Calhoun St #1A
Tallahassee, FL 32303
PH: 850.222.1243
FAX: 850.224.5281
Email: info@fpta.org
Join Our E-mail List
Email: