Florida law requires continuing education as a part of license renewal for physical therapists and physical therapist assistants in the State of Florida. These requirements for physical therapists and physical therapist assistants are defined in the state practice act and in the rules of the Florida Board of Physical Therapy.
In accordance with Florida Statute 486.109, Florida Physical Therapy Association approves courses that are required under this statute to be completed by Florida licensed physical therapists and physical therapist assistants.
Within that law (and rule), the APTA and the FPTA have been given general jurisdiction over all matters pertaining to the approval of Continuing Education courses offered by entities other than CAPTE approved PT and PTA Educational programs.
The Board of Physical Therapy has defined by rule, specific areas as outlined by the law that the FPTA Continuing Education Accreditation Policies and Procedures Committee looks for when accrediting courses, they are: professional ethics, clinical education, clinical management, clinical science, Florida law relating to physical therapy, basic sciences, risk management, and HIV/AIDS. No more than 5 hours may be received in the area of risk management, no more than 3 hours in HIV/AIDS and only 12 total hours may be achieved in home study per biennium. The current biennium began December 1, 2013 and will end November 30, 2015. For more information on Continuing Education requirements refer to rule 64B17-9.
Continuing Education (CE) Requirements
|REQUIRED SUBJECT AREA
||REQUIRED NUMBER OF HOURS
||Medical Error courses approved by any Board within the Division of Medical Quality Assurance are approved by the Board of Physical Therapy
||HIV/AIDS course required for first renewal only and are accepted if approved by any Board within the Division of Medical Quality Assurance
Twenty-four (24) contact hours of continuing education (CE/CEU*) must be completed within the current biennium for which the license is being renewed. (Bienniums run from 12/1/odd year-11/30/next odd year. For example, 12/1/2013 – 11/30/2015 is a licensure biennium).
Continuing Education Unit (CEU): One continuing educational unit shall be considered equivalent to 10 contact hours. You must complete 24 contact hours of approval continuing education per biennium.
No more than 12 hours may come from home study/online courses. All licensees must complete 2 hours on the Prevention of Medical Errors for each licensure renewal cycle.
Licenses issued in the second half of the biennium are exempt from the renewal requirements with the exception of 2 hours of Prevention of Medical Errors and 1 hour of HIV/AIDS
CE Accreditation for Providers
CE Approval for PT & PTA
Approved CE Courses
Continuing Ed FAQ
Research & Grants
Other Helpful Links
CE Broker Information
CE Broker Home
FSBPT (Laws & Rules Exam)
Important Licensure Deadline
The current licensure period ends November 30, 2015. This means that the 24 required continuing education hours per biennium of licensure must be met by November 30, 2015.
Individual Course Approval Application
For individuals seeking approval of a course that was not approved for continuing education credit will need to complete and submit the Individual Application Form.
CE Broker - Member Discount
|CE Broker is the Florida system for tracking continuing education hours electronically. FPTA members qualify for a $5 discount when they subscribe to the Professional Account, click here for more information.