Community Search
Communities   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
Community Search
Continuing Education for the PT and PTA
Share |

Quick Links

Role of the FPTA
Individual Application
Finding Approved Courses
CE Requirements

Physical therapists and physical therapist assistants who are renewing their licenses in Florida are required to take twenty-four hours of continuing education per license renewal year. This is defined by state regulations and governed by the Florida Board of Physical Therapy.

Education

CE Accreditation for Providers
CE Approval for PT & PTA
Approved CE Courses
Continuing Ed FAQ
Online Education
Basic CCIP
Research & Grants


Quick Links on this page

Individual Course App
Finding Approved Courses
Requirements

Other Helpful Links

CE Broker Information
APTA
CE Broker
FSBPT (Laws & Rules Exam)

Important Deadline

The current licensure period ends November 30, 2017. This means that the 24 required continuing education hours per biennium of licensure must be met by November 30, 2017.

 

Role of the FPTA

The FPTA approves continuing education courses for course providers and individuals seeking license renewal. Back to top

How to Apply for Individual Courses

If a course provider has not applied to the FPTA for course approval, you may request individual approval by completing and returning the Individual Application Form. If you submit this form prior to or within sixty days after course completion, the cost is $20. If submitted later than sixty days after attendance, the cost is $100. If you do not submit all of the required information, there may be additional costs.
Back to top

Finding Approved Courses


CE Broker is the Florida system for tracking continuing education hours electronically. The CE Broker Course Search has a listing of current approved courses. FPTA members qualify for a $5 discount when they subscribe to the CE Broker Professional Account.

You can find past approved courses on the FPTA website.
Back to top

Requirements

24 CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDIT HOURS REQUIRED PER BIENNIUM

The following is a general overview of CEH requirements for license renewal. For complete information, visit the Florida Board of Physical Therapy.

Required Subject Area

Required Number of Hours*

Important Information

General Hours
22

The Florida Board of PT will accept up to twelve (12) contact hours for "home study" during a biennum. This may include online courses in which there is no interaction with a presenter. 

At least (12) contact hours must be "live" hours, which may include online webinars. “Live" webinars are date and time specific (happening in “real time”), and the participant must be able to interact with the presenter during the session.

No more than 5 hours may be received in the area of risk management, no more than 3 hours in HIV/AIDS.

Medical Errors
2

Medical Error courses approved by any Board within the Division of Medical Quality Assurance are approved by the Board of Physical Therapy.

HIV/AIDS
1

HIV/AIDS course required for first renewal only and are accepted if approved by any Board within the Division of Medical Quality Assurance.

 

*Per biennium (a biennium runs from 12/1/odd year-11/30/next odd year. For example, 12/1/2015 – 11/30/2017 is a licensure biennium). Back to top


 

 

 

Twitter Feed
more Calendar

1/19/2018 » 1/20/2018
2018 FPTA Student Conclave #2018Conclave

2/3/2018 » 2/4/2018
CCIP Course - University of Miami - Coral Gables

Hot Topics
Sail Away with the FPTA
FPTA PT, PTA and student members are invited to cruise with the FPTA for its 2018 Spring Cruise and Conference March 15-19, leaving out of Ft. Lauderdale. Earn up to twelve (12) live hours of CE and make memories to last a lifetime. Learn more



Save
Save
Save
Save
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal